English Department

Welcome to the BFA English Department!

 

The English Department provides opportunities for all learners to improve their literacy skills through the study of literature.  In their English classes, students read closely and critically to comprehend a range of increasingly complex literary texts.  Also, students produce effective writing for a range of purposes and audiences.


 

 Mrs. Hebert’s AP Language and Composition Summer Assignment

Summer AP Assignment 2016 (1.0 MiB)


 

Writing Links

 


 


Hill/Bonsall Reading and Writing Workshop: Click Here

 



English Department Contact Info:

 

Keith Carlton

Dept Chair

kcarlton@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6583 /
 
Nate Archambault

Teacher

nrchambault@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6567 /
 
Jamie Bristol

Teacher

jbristol@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6438 /
 
Larissa Hebert

Teacher

lhebert@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6581 /

I teach 11th grade AP Language and Composition and American Literature courses. I live Fairfield with my husband, Thomas, and our daughter, Ella. In my free time, I like to travel with my family, play and teach piano, and read (of course!).

Webpage

 
Jim Hill

Teacher

jhill@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6588 /
 
Jacqueline Kaufman

Teacher

jkaufman@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6434 /
 
Kieran Kivlehan

Teacher

kkivlehan@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6521 /
 
Jodi Martin

Teacher

jmartin@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6564 /
 
Polly Rico

Teacher

prico@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6589 /

I grew up in East Calais, Vermont but spent my summers on my grandparents' farm in Enosburgh, so Franklin County was like a second home. I went to U-32 High School and then attended UVM for both my undergraduate degree and my Masters. I am married with 2 kids. My hobbies are reading, gardening,and swimming.

 

Webpage

 
Peter Riegelman

Teacher

priegelman@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6592 /
 
Eric Telfer

Teacher

etelfer@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6566 /
 
Barbara Tenney

Teacher

btenney@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6421 /
 
Donald Tinney

Teacher

dtinney@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6568 /

Chair of the Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators.
Serve on the National Education Association's board of directors.


Webpage

 
Mary Ellen Tourville

Teacher

mtourville@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6480 /

I have taught in quite a few area schools over the last 20 years, and I can honestly say that BFA is my favorite! The students and teachers here care more about the community, their learning, and each other than anywhere else I've been. I live in Georgia with my husband and two kids (Allison is 13 and Joseph is 10). In my free time I enjoy riding horses, spending time on the lake, reading, gardening, and hanging out with my family. I love being a teacher because every day is an adventure. My goal is to help students make personal connections to what we are doing in class. I believe that students learn more when they see that what we are learning matters.

Webpage

 

 

 



Summer Assignment– Accelerated Freshman

 

Summer Assignment Letter (81.1 KiB)

 

Summer Assignment #1 (72.1 KiB)

 

Summer Assignment #2 (134.1 KiB)

 



Mr. Archambault: Accelerated Foundation Literature Summer Assignment 

 

Mr. Archambault's Accelerated Foundation Literature Summer Assignment (358.0 KiB)