Science

Science Dept Staff 14


Welcome!

 

The Bellows Free Academy Science Department is a fantastic group of dynamic teachers that are willing to go the extra mile to ensure student learning and understanding. We are more like a “family” than a department! We work hard to create an environment that is conducive to learning while offering many strategies for students to demonstrate their levels of understanding.

 

Science Department Contact Info:

 

Daniel Plimpton

Dept Chair

dplimpton@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6439 /
 
Kristin Corrigan

Teacher

kcorrigan@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6442 /
 
Emily Eldred

Teacher

eeldred@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6445 /

(Emily's picture)


I have been teaching for 14 years now, all of them at BFA.  I graduated from the University of Vermont in 2001 with a B.A. in Biology and Anthropology. I also have a M.Ed. from UVM in Curriculum and Instruction. I teach Biology and Anatomy and Physiology. I love science and learning and find that my students teach me something new every day.  I am a life long Vermonter. I live in Winooski with my husband and two children. When I'm not here at school I enjoy reading, cooking, gardening and playing with my kids.


Webpage

 
Tim Fugere

Teacher

tfugere@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6443 /
 
Chris Hungerford

Teacher

chungerford@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6447 /

I have been teaching science at BFA for the past ten years, since finishing my M. Ed in Education from Drexel University, and my B.S. in Science at St. Lawrence University. I currently teach Earth Science and Environmental Studies. I also run the gaming club and coach boys varsity golf at BFA. I grew up in St. Albans and graduated from BFA in 2000. I live in Georgia with my wife and our two sons. I enjoy spending time with family, watching sports, exercising, going to yard sales, and reading in my free time.

 


Webpage

 
Tom Koldys

Teacher

tkoldys@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6448 /
 
Margaret Magnan

Teacher

mmagnan@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6440 /
 
Glenn McCabe

Teacher

gmccabe@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6444 /

I started my career as an engineer designing jet engines. I changed my career path to teaching while I was serving with the Peace Corps in Vanuatu. When I returned from Vanuatu, I taught general science in a junior high school just outside of the Navajo reservation in New Mexico. For the last 10 years I have taught a variety of classes at BFA including chemistry, earth science, physics, and physical science. When I am not teaching I like spending time with family, playing games, or going for a run.

 


Webpage

 
Jeffrey Rouleau

Teacher

jrouleau@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6446 /

I grew up in Lewiston, Maine and my mom was an office manage, my dad was a truckdriver. I have 2 sisters and I brother. I graduated from McMahon Elementary School, Lewiston Junior High School and St. Dominic Regional High School. I got my BS in Biology from St. Michael's College and then did a year of volunteer work my wife in South Florida working with migrant farm worker families. I then taught for 2 years in that same community before moving back to Vermont. I taught for 4 years at Milton Junior High School, before coming to BFA in 2000. I have 5 children whom have all attended St. Albans City School and BFA. My oldest is 22 and my youngest is 9. My wife and I have been married since 1994.

Webpage

 
Michelle Stinnett

Teacher

mstinnett@fcsuvt.org / 802.527. 6440 /